Sona and the Golden Beasts (Hardcover)

Sona and the Golden Beasts By Rajani LaRocca Cover Image

Sona and the Golden Beasts (Hardcover)

$19.99


Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

From Newbery Honor and Walter Award–winning author Rajani LaRocca comes a gripping middle grade fantasy perfect for fans of The Serpent’s Secret and The Last Mapmaker.

Though music is outlawed in the land of Devia, Sona hears it everywhere. Sona is a Malech, a member of the ruling class that conquered Devia centuries ago. Malechs forbade music to prevent the native Devans from using their magic, and Sona hides her abilities lest they put her in danger.

Then Sona discovers an orphaned wolf pup. She believes the pup, with its golden ears, might be related to one of the five sacred beasts of Devia, and she vows to keep it safe. That means bringing the pup in tow when Sona embarks on a perilous quest, along with a Devan boy, to secure the nectar of life for a loved one who has fallen gravely ill. On the journey, as Sona uncovers secrets about the Malechian empire and her own identity, she realizes that the fate of the sacred beasts, and the future of Devia, just might come down to her.

This captivating fantasy novel by award-winning author Rajani LaRocca will sweep readers into Sona’s quest across the land of Devia as she grapples with the lasting impact of colonial rule and learns to fight for what she knows is right. 

Rajani LaRocca was born in India, raised in Kentucky, and now lives in Massachusetts, where she practices medicine and writes award-winning books for young readers, including the Newbery Honor–winning novel in verse, Red, White, and Whole. She’s always been an omnivorous reader, and now she is an omnivorous writer of novels and picture books, fiction and nonfiction, in prose and poetry. A graduate of Harvard College and Harvard Medical School, she lives outside Boston with her family. Visit her at rajanilarocca.com.

Product Details ISBN: 9780063295407
ISBN-10: 0063295407
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: March 5th, 2024
Pages: 400
Language: English

“An epic journey woven with breathtaking prose and a spellbinding and treacherous tale. A new classic, with the power to heal and triumph.” — Donna Barba Higuera, Newbery Medal-winning author of The Last Cuentista

"Spellbinding and vivid. Rajani LaRocca has created a magical realm like no other, a hero to cheer for, and a mystery that grows deeper with every page turn. Like all great fantasy, the world of Sona and the Golden Beasts shines a powerful light on our own." — Christina Soontornvat, three-time Newbery Honor recipient

“LaRocca’s intricate South Asian–inspired world is richly developed. A fully immersive and enchanting fantasy that readers will get lost in.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"A meaningful and magical exploration of tough topics through a memorable lens.” — Booklist (starred review)

“A lush, spirited story that explores the harm of colonialism, the power of friendship, and the depths of forgiveness and faith.” — Publishers Weekly