The Only Light Left Burning (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Only Light Left Burning By Erik J. Brown Cover Image

The Only Light Left Burning (Hardcover)

$19.99


Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

What If It's Us meets They Both Die at the End in this sequel to the beloved postapocalyptic queer YA adventure romance All That's Left in the World by USA Today bestselling author Erik J. Brown.

Perfect for fans of Adam Silvera, Alex London, and Heartstopper by Alice Oseman.

After a long and treacherous journey south, Andrew and Jamie have finally found safety in the Florida Keys. But they soon learn that safety doesn't always mean happily ever after.

Settling into life in the Islamorada colony with other survivors of the bug, Andrew believes they've finally found themselves a home, even a family. But anxious Jamie is less comfortable in their new community and is eager to return north to keep the promise they made to their friend Henri—to bring her to the colony and reunite her with her daughter. Besides, would it really be so bad to find someplace just for the two of them?

When a hurricane and a shocking betrayal force them to leave the colony in search of new shelter, it brings their tensions to a head—and puts them in the path of some old enemies. Andrew and Jamie must set aside their differences to survive once more and find a new home. But what if "home" means different things to each of them?

Erik J. Brown is the author of All That's Left in the World. Erik was selected as a Lambda Literary Emerging Writers Fellow. When not writing genre-blending books for young adults, he enjoys traveling and embarking on the relentless quest of appeasing his Shiba Inu. He lives in Philadelphia with his husband.

Product Details ISBN: 9780063338272
ISBN-10: 0063338270
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: May 28th, 2024
Pages: 416
Language: English

PRAISE FOR ALL THAT'S LEFT IN THE WORLD: "Brown has somehow achieved a book that is romantic, hilarious, warm-hearted, hopeful, and page-turningly thrilling all at once. I was hooked from beginning to end."  — Dahlia Adler, author of Cool for the Summer

PRAISE FOR ALL THAT'S LEFT IN THE WORLD: "Tense, exciting, sometimes heartbreaking and always romantic, All That's Left in the World explores what it means to hold onto hope and humanity when the worst case scenario becomes reality. With characters you'll adore, and a fast-paced, mysterious plot that keeps you turning the pages as fast as you can devour them, this book is not to be missed."  — Sophie Gonzales, author of Only Mostly Devastated

PRAISE FOR ALL THAT'S LEFT IN THE WORLD: “A timeless love story that could not be more appropriate for this moment, All That's Left in the World is a thrilling, heartfelt, and beautifully written debut.” — Tom Ryan, Lambda Award winning author of I HOPE YOU'RE LISTENING

PRAISE FOR ALL THAT'S LEFT IN THE WORLD: “Survival is core to the queer experience, and in All That’s Left In the World, Brown takes that to apocalyptic extremes with the story of Andrew and Jamie. This is quintessentially brave, dangerous-in-the-best-way queer storytelling!”-- — Adam Sass, award-winning author of Surrender Your Sons

PRAISE FOR ALL THAT'S LEFT IN THE WORLD: “All That’s Left in the World is unfailingly riveting and hopeful. A timely exploration of survival, trauma, and love stitched together with sharp wit and bone-deep emotion. Erik J. Brown is an invigorating voice to watch out for.” — Julian Winters, award-winning author of Running With Lions

PRAISE FOR ALL THAT'S LEFT IN THE WORLD: "It’s difficult to say Andrew and Jamie are lucky, as each lost everyone they knew, but love like this—a small ember carefully tended until it erupts into a sustaining flame—is rare even when there are millions of people around you." — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

PRAISE FOR ALL THAT'S LEFT IN THE WORLD: "In allowing the protagonists moments of laughter and warmth amid so much loss, he gets to the terrifying heart of societal collapse: the loneliness and guilt of outliving friends and family—and the resulting hope in connection." — Publishers Weekly