I Can Help!: An Acorn Book (Princess Truly #8) (Hardcover)

Princess Truly loves to help those around her, in these rhyming stories perfect for beginning readers!

Pick a book. Grow a Reader!

This series is part of Scholastic's early reader line, Acorn, aimed at children who are learning to read. With easy-to-read text, a short-story format, plenty of humor, and full-color artwork on every page, these books will boost reading confidence and fluency. Acorn books plant a love of reading and help readers grow!

Princess Truly knows how to help! Across three stories, Princess Truly lends a hand during her friend's moving day, she cleans up a stinky park with her magical curls, and she helps a farmer find his tractor key! These funny and empowering short stories promote believing in yourself, building confidence, and having a positive self-image. They foster imagination and curiosity, and are perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist.

With full-color artwork and easy-to-read rhyming text throughout, this series is just-right for new readers!

KELLY GREENAWALT is a children's book author, wife, and mother of seven living just outside Houston, Texas. Princess Truly was inspired by her daughters, Calista and Kaia, who are smart, spunky, and have magical curls of their own.

AMARIAH RAUSCHER is an artist and illustrator specializing in luminous watercolor illustration. She lives with her husband and children in Illinois, where she enjoys drawing, painting, and bringing Princess Truly's newest journeys to life.

Product Details ISBN: 9781338883459
ISBN-10: 1338883453
Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
Publication Date: October 3rd, 2023
Pages: 48
Language: English
Series: Princess Truly

Praise for I Am Curious! (Princess Truly #7):

"This delightful book features a relatable and inquisitive little girl who many readers-especially those who love science-will be able to identify with." -- School Library Journal

Praise for I Am Mighty! (Princess Truly #6):

"[T]he limited vocabulary and rhymed endings help young readers predict their way through the stories. Greenawalt's nod to the beauty of girls of color offers an opportunity for all children to hone their reading chops." -- School Library Journal

Praise for Off I Go! (Princess Truly #2):

"Princess Truly is not only magical, she is also kind... This is evident throughout the narrative as she helps a penguin and tries to cheer up Sir Noodles. The book contains three short chapters with one or two sentences per page, making it a great choice for students who are just starting to read chapter books. The full-color illustrations on each page add to the fun, whimsical text. Princess Truly's curls actually sparkle with rainbows when she works her magic. VERDICT This adorable story is a must-have for fans of the series, as well as a great addition to any early chapter book section." -- School Library Journal

Praise for I Am a Super Girl! (Princess Truly #1):

"Young readers who admire Black Panther but need to see superheroes as young as they are will enjoy not only Princess Truly's magic hair and flightworthy boots, but also her confidence, creativity, and supportive attitude toward others... Readers will respond to this confident, can-do girl who demonstrates that magical adventures are easy to create." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Divided into three short stories and illustrated with energetic, colorful images that both mirror and deepen the text, this transitional chapter book is ideal for brand-new readers. Many children (and their caregivers) will also appreciate that, while Princess Truly does have magical skills, what makes her truly 'super' is her kindness, empathy, and creative problem-solving." -- Publishers Weekly

Praise for Princess Truly in My Magical, Sparkling Curls:

"Girls... will welcome this gleeful celebration of self-confidence and black girl magic." -- Publishers Weekly

"Explores the magical potential of Afro hair... [a] home-away tale worth the trip." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Princess Truly is a bold and bright role model of positive self-image and embracing your unique diversity." -- Booklist

Praise for Princess Truly in I Am Truly:

Named a Best Book of 2017 by Essence Magazine

"The perfect choice for youngsters from pre-K to second grade." -- Essence

"A celebration of boundless potential... positive, fun, and truly lively." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Defies predictability... pair with Andrea Beaty's Rosie Revere, Engineer (2013) for another story about a strong, independent, capable girl." -- Booklist